Moving this website to netlify

August 18, 2019

This site was always hosted on Github Pages and always was and always will be a static site. At very beginning i use a custom-hacky made up script in node js to build it. It made the job, but the workflow was a little hard, i couldnt deploy a new post unless i was at my computer, and if i could use another, i will have to download Nodejs, clone the scripts and run it. Still imposible from another thing that wasnt a pc. So i made the change to Jekyll. Time passed and i read this amazing blog post by SaraSoueidan and i wanted to try Hugo. I felt in love at first try. So i started using it. Although i love it, i still had the same problem i had with my custom script. Lucky me, i heard of Netlify and i was the perfect complement, i could push from anywhere and netlify will build my website. Buuut at first i didnt know you could make your own custom url ( yes, i know, silly me ), so i continued using Hugo locally and deploying manually. Until today, that i found out about custom urls. The only problem i had was the links i have already posted in Reddit will link to nothing, because i couldnt update them or redirect them. Or could i?. Here comes a silly but powerfull hack, in any github pages, if you make a file called 404.html, it will be showed whenever a 404 happens. This is the perfect place to redirect them, the only thing i have to do was to place a script tag that replaces the host with the new one. And also place a message informing that to whoever happens to not have js.

Yes, i know this post doesnt say anything new, but is the perfect excuse to make my new and first post using Netlify.

Leave your comment on the github issue, sending me an email or DMing me on twitter